OrangeWebsite.com - Green Web Hosting Servers in Iceland
 
HomeBlogLib Dems to Force Conference Debate on Welfare reform

Libdem blogger George Potter (also a frequent contributor to Liberal Conspiracy) will mostly likely force a debate at the Liberal Democrat conference on Employment Support Allowance.

The amendment calls for a “less stressful Assessment process” and for people with disabilities to get the support they need.

He reported on his blog yesterday:

The amendment Sophie Bridger and I have written to the ESA motion was submitted to the Federal Conference Committee today by Guildford Liberal Democrats who are kindly sponsoring it. This now means that the FCC will formally consider whether to allow the amendment to be placed on the agenda for the debate on the original motion itself. Under the circumstances, I can’t see any grounds for blocking a debate on an amendment so that stage should be something of a formality.

The amendment can be read here, and the news was loudly welcomed by disability campaigners.

A similar amendment is being submitted by another group of Libdem campaigners, including Dr Evan Harris.

Plans are now afoot to combine the two amendments, force a debate and a vote, and get the Libdems to take action on the extremely harsh ATOS tests as part of the Welfare Reform bill.

Liberal Conspiracy

For anybody who would like to lobby LibDem MP’s below is a list of all their e-mail addresses, please feel free to tell them how you feel about Welfare Reform, (not that I expect them to listen).

 leader@libdems.org.uk Nick Clegg

danny@highlandlibdems.org.uk Danny Alexander

info@normanbaker.org.uk Norman Baker

info@berwicklibdems.org.uk Sir Alan Beith

gordon.birtwistle.mp@parliament.uk Gordon Birtwhistle

info@middorsetlibdems.org.uk Annette Brooke

office@tauntonlibdems.org.uk Jeremy Browne

info@malcolmbruce.org.uk Malcolm Bruce

paul@paulburstow.org.uk Paul Burstow

info@lorelyburt.org.uk Lorely Burt

info@vincentcable.org.uk Vince Cable

fife_office@mingcampbell.org.uk Sir Menzies Campbell

carmichaela@parliament.uk Alistair Carmichael

mike.crockart.mp@parliament.uk Mike Crockart

edward@edwarddavey.co.uk Edward Davey

tim@timfarron.co.uk Tim Farron

lynne@lynnefeatherstone.org Lynne Featherstone

don@donfoster.co.uk Don Foster

andrewgeorgeppc@live.co.uk Andrew George

stephen@stephengilbert.org.uk Stephen Gilbert

duncan@duncanhames.org.uk Duncan Hames

email@mikehancock.co.uk Mike Hancock

mail@nickharveymp.com Nick Harvey

david@davidheath.co.uk David Heath

john.hemming@jhc.co.uk John Hemming

martin@martinhorwood.net Martin Horwood

simon@simonhughes.org.uk Simon Hughes

chris@chrishuhne.org.uk Chris Huhne

info@cheadle-libdems.org.uk Mark Hunter

contact@julianhuppert.org.uk Julian Huppert

charles@highlandlibdems.org.uk Charles Kennedy

norman@normanlamb.org.uk Norman Lamb

enquiries@yeovil-libdems.org.uk David Laws

info@john-leech.org.uk John Leech

lloydsa@parliament.uk Stephen Lloyd

michaelmoorebrs2010@gmail.com Michael Moore

info@gregmulholland.org Greg Mulholland

tessa.munt.mp@parliament.uk Tessa Munt

pughj@parliament.uk John Pugh

info@aandb-libdems.org Alan Reid

contact@danrogerson.org Dan Rogerson

info@bobrussell.org.uk Bob Russell

ge10adrian@googlemail.com Adrian Sanders

robert.smith@scotlibdems.org.uk Sir Robert Smith

enquiries@andrewstunell.org.uk Andrew Stunell

ian@ianswales.com Ian Swales

jo@joswinson.org.uk Jo Swinson

teathers@parliament.uk Sarah Teather

john@johnthurso.org.uk John Thurso

david@davidward.org.uk David Ward

steve@stevewebb.org.uk Steve Webb

info@rogerwilliams.org.uk Roger Williams

stephen@stephenwilliams.org.uk Stephen Williams

markwilliams4ceredigion@googlemail.com Mark Williams

info@jennywillott.org.uk Jenny Willott

simon@simonwright.org.uk Simon Wright

Comments
  • Mozza September 11, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    It’s all very well using professionals who are accountable to the GMC or RCN but these two professional bodies have been so overwhelmed by the numbers of complaints that the GMC has now decided NOT to investigate any Atos doctor reported to them UNLESS the case has had a successful appeal. It is a greater concern that this private contractor has no public accountability, are not overseen by the Care Quality Commission, and so the public have no protection against this discredited company. Mo

  • Phillip Dudd May 21, 2014 at 4:52 am

    Incapacity benefit:
    To help people stay or become incapacitated,
    and get in debt till forced onto esa.
    Esa:
    designed to get sick people onto Jsa
    JSA:
    To assist people to become sick.
    Bedroom Tax:
    if your thinking of becoming or staying sick,
    this should really give assistance by making life hell
    and for children as well,
    Benefit sanctioning:
    to make sure you live under more threats if
    for any reason you are recieving any of the above.
    Council tax: To involve more threats and bully tactics
    when you find you miss any payments from being sick.
    or poor.
    Complaint procedures:
    Not for any of the above, and not for any company that
    dosnt want to deal with complaints,
    so this will help if you are determined to be sick
    GP appointments: don’t forget to plan when you will be sick,
    not including, stress, anxiety, depression,
    or if affected by any of the above,
    also if you meet any of the above criteria,
    you should be totally able and available to get a job,
    But just dont be sick even if you are when you started the job,
    you wont be able to complain anyway.

    • Phillip Dudd May 21, 2014 at 5:03 am

      wow , its just like what ive experienced, and i thought i was alone.

  • Phillip Dudd May 21, 2014 at 5:24 am

    I think all government ministers work really hard, and should all take a 50 year holiday,
    (starting now) with full pay and be provided an extra property (tax free) to holiday in.
    I appreciate the reforms are about people (not children), and im glad they arnt doing it
    for election point scoring (obviously these reforms wouldn’t help) would they ??
    Its also great its not going to help the financial deficit, or the poor so people have to work harder,
    longer hours, for less money, and see their children even less, so its refreshing to see they will
    even fight their own policies like family values.
    Id say it helps me sleep at night but im not allowed a bedroom of my own, unless i share with my boy or girl,so ill just work harder, with no holiday, but feel safe in the governments hands, whilst im sleeping on my front room floor.
    I also believe the government psychoanalyst should get a pay rise , he must be very very busy.

  • You must be logged in to comment. Log in
%d bloggers like this:

Hosted Naturally: OrangeWebsite.com Green Hosting Servers in Iceland!